Cassandra Clare’s City of Lost Souls Playlist

Lots of authors find themselves inspired by certain types of music as they write and Cassandra Clare is no exception! She recently gave Mundie Moms a look into her playlist inspired by City of Lost Souls, including a short explanation as to why each song fits into the book!

Here’s a few examples:

Hem Of Your Garment: Cake
This is a great Sebastian song because it’s not just about being a bad person, it’s about being a bad person but knowing someone much better than you and really wanting to be like them. It’s about wanting to be good and not knowing how to be. About feeling unworthy and that just making you angrier than ever.

I have no love but only goals
How very empty is my soul
It is a soul that feels no thrill
A soul that could easily kill
And I’m not fit to touch
The hem of your garment

Love Me Like the World is Ending: Ben Lee
A lovely love song, but one about mortality and finite-ness and endings. This was a Magnus and Alec song since mortality is much on their minds. “The sky is what makes the ocean blue” = mortality is what makes life worth experiencing.

This is the last day of existence.
And all i want is you.
There’s a certain sadness.
But i know, i know, i know, the sky is what makes the ocean blue.

“From Some Dying Star” by Future Bible Heroes
A Sebastian song. More about how other people see him. There’s something about very beautiful people who are also very scary and this song gets at that.

Your hair is gold on gold
You’re seventeen years old
You make my blood run cold cause you’re not human.


Fresh Blood – The Eels

This was a fun song to listen to again when writing some of the creepier scenes in the books. The refrain about needing fresh blood was — well, there’s some vampire action in City of Lost Souls. Some of it is Simon, but some of it … isn’t.

The moon shines in the autumn sky
Growing cold, the leaves all die
I’m more alone than I’ve ever been
Help me out of the shape I’m in
After the fires, before the flood
My sweet baby, I need fresh blood

First Day of My Life
A Jace and Clary song. It reminded me of what Izzy tells Clary in City of Glass, that Jace basically was half-asleep before he met her, that she’s the first person he ever really “saw.’

Yours is the first face that I saw
I think I was blind before I met you

“Poison and Wine” by the Civil Wars
About Sebastian’s messed up feelings for his sister. You can interpret it . . . however you want!

You only know what I want you to
I know everything you don’t want me to
Oh your mouth is poison, your mouth is wine
Oh you think your dreams are the same as mine
Oh I don’t love you but I always will

Take a look at the full list here!

What songs would you put in your own Mortal Instruments fan mix?

Leave a Reply

